Hong Kong Disneyland: Tomorrowland

Hong Kong Disneyland’s Tomorrowland is smaller than Tomorrowland at Magic Kingdom, but has better versions of some of the shared attractions.

I’ve been on Astro Orbiter (Orbitron at HKDL) at Magic Kingdom twice. I like that it’s so high in the air, but two humans sitting bobsled-style in a tiny rocket isn’t very comfortable. Hong Kong Disneyland’s Astro Orbiter has side-by-side seating in a UFO, much more comfortable and in vehicles that I think look cooler.

I go on Magic Kingdom’s Space Mountain regularly, but it’s not a ride I enjoy. It’s really bumpy and my legs often hit the sides. But Space Mountain at Hong Kong Disneyland? I love it. The queue looks interesting and is full of warnings that make it seem more thrilling, the music is excellent, and it’s a smooth ride so no bruised legs!

The last shared attraction the two Tomorrowlands have is Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin (or Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters), one of my favorite rides at Magic Kingdom. They only have two diffrences really: at Hong Kong Disneyland the laser guns are handheld rather than attached to the vehicle, and I couldn’t get the max score at Hong Kong’s. Next time!

Autotopia (or Tomorrowland Speedway) is pretty much the same at both parks. The line is long (it had the longest wait for any ride at HKDL!) and the smell of gasoline pierces the air.

One thing Hong Kong’s Tomorrowland has that Magic Kingdom does not is Stitch Encounter. It’s pretty similar to Turtle Talk with Crush at Epcot, where kids ask the character questions and the character responds. It’s probably a lot more enjoyable if you have kids, but it was worth seeing it once. Plus the queue had cool lights.

The lesson here is that Magic Kingdom’s Tomorrowland could use some upgrades. Trade Astro Orbiter’s rockets with UFOs then make Space Mountain smooth and have better music.

Or don’t, I can just appreciate what I have and not compare it to other stuff. It’s a good rule for life!


Leave a comment